My Final Thoughts

Over the past 13 weeks, I have investigated the experience of University students, specifically focusing on the nature of the student experience in relation to full-time employment. While doing so, I conducted two primary research methodologies and researched extensive amounts of background research.

Upon starting BCM212, and subsequently initiating my research project, I was fearful of what would be required of me and frustrated with the task at hand. I found I was stuck on a question like, “Why did I need to understand ethical considerations?” and “How can a good research plan help my research?” Fortunately, after completing the initially daunting research project and answering my halting questions, I am confident and have thoroughly valued learning and engaging with the various processes relating to the research project. I now understand the value and importance of the research project and am thankful for this.

When conducting my primary research, I found the focus group to be both a challenge and a rather large learning step. The physical task of listening to my participants, focusing on their opinions, beliefs and thoughts, was extremely beneficial to my research project. Another factor of which held great significance to my research was not only the opinions my participants, however, the way in which I represented the information I had been told. This was one component of the research project I really enjoyed, considering the ethical and moral implications of how I represented my participants, specifically ensuring that I maintained a high level of care when using their responses.

An aspect of the research project and subject that I found extremely valuable was that the research project was about the student university experience. Unlike other subjects, I have experienced where the core focus is on topics I have little personal experience with or that are based somewhere else in the world. I found it to be rewarding to investigate the student experience as I could broaden my own understanding while participating in the primary research of my peers. Using Twitter, as a means of communicating with BCM212 students, was extremely beneficial for obtaining primary research for the research project. I found that posting, for example, your survey link, you were enabled to gain a larger consensus of primary research.

Overall, I have learnt a remarkable amount of valuable information this semester, not only do I feel confident writing an opinion piece, but I now feel comfortable reaching out to my peers and reflecting participants thoughts ethically. I am looking forward to utilizing the skills I have acquired in this semester for projects in the future.

 

Thank you for reading and let me know if you agree/ disagree below!

Maddie 🙂

Leave a comment